FAQ & Tips


How do I store your candies?
If stored properly, the candies have a shelf life of 6 months. The unopened boxes need to be kept cool and dry. If you choose to store the unopened boxes in the refrigerator, they should be double wrapped in plastic or placed in a plastic bag because the humidity in the refrigerator tends to be a little too high. The other option is to place the double wrapped unopened boxes in the freezer for storage. The candies can be frozen for up to 2 years. To thaw, just bring up to room temperature before serving. We do not recommend freezing any of the chocolate candies. Once a box is opened, the candies dry out fairly quickly, but it helps to store the opened box in a zip-lock or plastic bag to reduce air flow to the candy.

Do Liberty Orchards candies contain gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in some cereal grains and most often wheat gluten is the source of some people's digestive problems. Barley, oats, spelt, kamut, triticale and other lesser-known grains can cause problems also. Our candies do not have wheat, wheat by-products or any other of the before-mentioned grains. Additionally, there are no wheat products in any flavorings contained in the candies. Our candies are made with corn starch and corn syrup. Corn also has gluten, but corn gluten has a different molecular structure. Many people that suffer from Celiac disease, or gluten intolerance, can eat our candy, but we suggest a consultation with their physician.

Do Liberty Orchards candies contain soy?
Soya Lecithin is an emulsifier that helps oil based flavors and colors blend evenly into our candy. It is used in trace amounts. All lecithin used in our candies is derived from soy bean oil. We do not use lecithin from animal sources.

Do you use high-fructose corn syrup?
Our gels are made with sugar (derived from beets) and corn syrup (not of the high fructose variety) for sweetness and bulk. The pectin and modified corn starch are used for the gelling properties. The formula relies on a specific ratio of carbohydrates to actually work. If the carbohydrates are out of balance the candy is either too soft or too hard.

Why do your nut-free products have a warning label on the box?
Liberty Orchards uses precautionary label statements such as “may contain traces of nuts” to alert consumers to the fact that products containing allergen and non-allergen containing ingredients are produced on the same production lines. Liberty Orchards Company recognizes that such labeling does not relieve us of the responsibility to maintain standards and procedures to reduce the risk of cross contamination of allergens. Several sections of the Liberty Orchards Company, Inc. Food Safety Program address procedures to minimize the risk of cross contamination of allergenic ingredients. Additionally, some of our ingredients come from companies that do manufacture products with peanuts and while they are careful to avoid peanut contamination, there is always a possibility that a small piece of peanut or peanut oil residue could be left after cleaning the equipment.

Are your candies suitable for vegan diets?
Our classic fruit & nut candies and nut-free candies are indeed vegan-safe. We do not use gelatins of any kind, but instead use high-grade citrus pectin as our gelling agent. The primary ingredients in the above candies are sugar, corn syrup, modified corn starch, pectin, flavorings, citric acid, malic acid, and soya lecithin. Depending on the flavor in question, there will also be fruit, fruit juices, and possibly include artificial flavors or colors. Our Fruit Chocolates and Dreamlets candies do contain milk, cream, and butter... so while they are safe for ovo-lacto vegetarians, they would not be appropriate for vegan diets.

Do you use gelatin in your candies?
We use only pectin to make our candies. All pectin is from plant sources, being produced from either apple pomace or citrus fruits. The pectin is what forms the gel to make our candies. Pectin is never from an animal source. Some people may think that gelatin (which is from an animal source) is used in our candies. They are mistaken...we only use pectin.

What sweeteners do you use in your Sugar-Free candies and what are “sugar alcohols”?
"Sugar alcohols are modified carbohydrates that have a sweet taste. The 'alcohol' designation refers to the chemical structure, but they are in no way related to ethyl or drinking alcohol. Sugar alcohols are very safe." Joseph Borzelleca, Ph.D., professor of pharmacology and toxicology, Medical College of Virginia in Richmond. Sorbitol, mannitol, xylitol, maltitol, maltitol syrup, lactitol, isomalt and hydrogentated starch hydrolysates are all examples of sugar alcohols. Sugar alcohols are found naturally in berries, apples, plums and other foods. They are also produced commercially from carbohydrates such as sucrose, glucose and starch for use in sugar-free candies, cookies and chewing gum. Along with adding a sweet taste, sugar alcohols perform a variety of functions such as adding bulk and texture, providing a cooling effect or taste, preventing browning that occurs during heating and retaining moisture in foods. Maltitol is a naturally occurring sugar alcohol which causes less of a rise in blood sugar than sucrose or glucose. Sorbitol is a naturally occurring sugar alcohol found in plants. The body absorbs Sorbitol much more slowly than glucose and causes only a small rise in blood glucose in people who have well controlled diabetes.

Are your candies Kosher?
The Liberty Orchards manufacturing facility has been under supervision of Kof-K Kosher Supervision since February 6, 2000. Our plant number is #1738. Candy produced at this plant has either "Dairy Equipment" (D.E.) or "Dairy" (D) status. The status for a particular product will be printed under the Kof-K emblem on the box or on the ingredient/nutrition facts insert. Prior to our association with Kof-K Supervision, our plant was under the supervision of Rabbi Moses Londinski, Kosher Services. Most of Liberty Orchards candies such as Aplets & Cotlets, Fruit Delights, Tropical Assortments, Fruit Chocolates and Old Country Locoum are Kosher. The Bakery items or Old-Fashioned Candies are not Kosher. If you'd like a complete listing of our many Kosher products, please send your name and address to www.service@libertyorchards.com or mail your request to Liberty Orchards, PO Box 178, Cashmere, WA 98815-0178.

Does Liberty Orchards have a local outlet where I can tour the factory?
Our factory welcomes visitors for free tours of our candy packing facility and shopping in our Country Store.
The hours are...
April - December: Monday-Friday, 8am-5:30pm. Weekends, 10am-4pm
January - March: Monday-Friday, 8:30am-4:30pm. Closed on weekends.
The address for the Liberty Orchards Country Store is 117 Mission Ave. Cashmere, WA 98815. Please note that the tour hours and factory operation hours do not always coincide... but we are happy to give tours of the facilities and equipment if there is no production when you visit. If you have any questions, please contact our Country Store at 509-782-4088.

How long will it take to get my order?
If you request ground shipping you can expect your package within one to two weeks. Express shipping would arrive in 2 or 3 business days and Next Business Day shipping would arrive in 1 day. Additionally, if you phone in an order before 11:00am Pacific Time using the Next Business Day shipping, your order will ship the same day you call, for arrival the next day. (Next Business Day delivery is available to most USA street addresses; sorry, PO Boxes are not allowed.)

Are your candies available all year long?
Most of the products listed in the Mail Order catalogs are available year round with some products being seasonal for special holidays such as Christmas or Valentine’s Day, etc. Some retail stores in the states of Washington, Oregon, Idaho and California carry the candies throughout the year however stores in most other states only carry the candies during the winter holidays.

Where is Cashmere located and what’s the weather like?
Cashmere is located in the very center of Washington State, just east of the Cascades mountain range. We’re in an area called the Wenatchee Valley which is a booming agricultural center with many apple, pear and cherry orchards. Just north of Cashmere is the beautiful Bavarian village of Leavenworth known throughout the world for its famous Christmas lighting weekends. Cashmere’s locale experiences 4 distinct seasons; summers can bring temperatures in the 80’s, 90’s and 100’s and winters have temperatures dipping into single digits with plenty of snow most years. Autumn brings warm daytime temperatures and cool nighttime temperatures, perfect for the ripening process of the many fruit orchards in the area. Springtime brings blossoms for all the different fruit trees and Wenatchee’s famous Apple Blossom Festival.